DEUTSCH

The hidden power of “useful”
microorganisms for the life science industry!


Company

Fundamental research is the best base for innovative developments. The perfect symbiosis of research and industry.

ADVANTAGES:

Even distribution.

The volatile substances evaporate and can access areas and surfaces evenly without any additional effort.

Extended shelf life.

Even very low concentrations have a positive effect on products and extend the shelf life.

In the course of a project initiated by Ortner Reinraumtechnik GmbH in close cooperation with the Institute for Environmental Biotechnology (Graz University of Technology) and the Research Center Pharmaceutical Engineering, the antagonistic effect of beneficial microorganisms on clinical relevant microorganisms was extensively studied. In order to make the promising results applicable for a wide range of industrial applications, the Roombiotic GmbH was founded in the year 2013. The team of Roombiotic is focused on the development of innovative decontamination technologies based on biogenic airborne antimicrobial substances.

The R&D department of Roombiotic has already identified several candidates of volatile substances produced by beneficial bacteria which express a strong antimicrobial activity at low concentrations against a broad spectrum of microbes, including bacteria (Staphylococcus aureus, MRSA, Escherichia coli, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Bacillus sp., Nocardia sp.), yeast (Candida albicans) and molds (Penicillium sp., Aspergillus sp., Cladiosporum sp.).

 

The active compounds of biogenic nature, which are a class of chemical compounds that also produce odors of fruits and vegetables, are synthesized and applied via suitable micro-dosing pumps.

The possibilities for its use are manifold, ranging from applications in the packaging of food products to complex applications in the field of the reduction of the microbial load on the surface of complex machines or medical equipment.

ortner_statement

„From the lab

to the market!“

 

From the early stages on we keep the focus in our research Projects on the final product and its value for our customers, not only for the food industry but also for the end user that rely on a safer and naturally enhanced product.

Josef Ortner

The hidden power of “beneficial”
microorganisms for the life science industry!

Research spotlights

Microorganisms are microscopically small marvels that constantly change their survival strategies to adapt to new environments.

004_Dr.Berg (Small)

We are talking about tiny creatures which belong to the oldest life forms on our planet. Besides archaea, fungi and microalgae, especially bacteria include a huge variety of beneficial microorganisms. They have been used in the food industry and biotechnology for a long time.

In addition, on Earth, microorganisms are involved in geochemical processes and have a positive influence the global climate. They produce at least half of the elemental oxygen and regarding to humans they contribute significantly to human health by their release of essential metabolites.

Products

After several years of research 3 Product
lines are available for the life science industry.

MICROBIAL ANALYSES

 Microbial Analyses of production evironments

In the food industry it is essential to have information about the individual microbiological flora of a production environment in order to make the right decision in terms of technology.

Our analysis helps to characterize the existing microbiome, to quantify the microbial bioburden, to determine the routes of entry of germs and develop appropriate countermeasures. Moreover, the use of DNA intercalating agents provides the possibility of distinguishing between live and dead microbes.

 Real time PCR method

For a reliable reduction of the microbial load an adequate monitoring of the local microbiome is essential. Molecular biological methods based on Real-Time-quantitative-PCR including a Live/Dead distinction allow an active monitoring of harmful microorganisms in the industrial or clinical surrounding.This includes the continuous analysis of samples from the production environment in “real time”. The main advantage compared to the conventional cultivation dependent methods is the time needed. Since the samples can be analyzed within a few hours after collection, the results are available very promptly. This prevents expensive, complex and unwelcome product recalls. The method offered thus increases the safety for both the customer and producers throughout the whole product life cycle.

Folder: Microbiome Tracking

BIOGENIC SUBSTANCES

Selected biogenic substances that have the ability to act as naturally derived antimicrobials facilitate the decontamination of surfaces and food. In combination with an appropriate dosing of the active substances the volatile compounds can be applied precisely. This allows the generation of a permanently germ-reduced environment in which the unwanted microbiological growth can be controlled on or in the product.

FLAVORINGS

Flavorings, as they are produced by both, beneficial microorganisms and as components of the odor of food (fruit, vegetables, nuts and coffee) are offered to customers with different flavor characteristics.

Folder: Aroma

Video

Patents

Research. Development. Patent.

patent_foto_2

1) METHODS AND COMPOSITIONS FOR BIOLOGICALLY CONTROLLING MICROBIAL GROWTH ON CLEAN ROOM EQUIPMENT

The present invention relates to methods and compositions for controlling microbial growth on clean room equipment. The method comprises of the use of one or more biologically active substance(s) including antagonistic microorganisms, preferably bacteria.

patent_foto_1

2) VOLATILE ORGANIC COMPOUNDS FROM BACTERIAL ANTAGONISTS FOR CONTROLLING MICROBIAL GROWTH

The invention specifically relates to the application on surfaces. The method is based on a contactless treatment of the surfaces with volatile substances. The airborne antimicrobial agents are originally produced by plant-associated microorganisms but will be applied in synthetic pure form or in a mixture on the surface to be treated.

Team

ortner_1

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Gabriele Berg

Partner
Roombiotic GmbH

Head of the Institute of “Environmental Biotechnology” at the University of Technology in Graz. Author of more than 170 scientific publications, holding 7 patents and expert for microbiology.

ortner_3

Josef Ortner

Partner
Roombiotic GmbH

CEO Ortner
Reinraumtechnik GmbH.
Pionier of cleanroom technology in Europe and holder of several patents in the area of cleanroom technology

Daniel Treffer

Dipl.-Ing. Daniel Treffer

CEO
Roombiotic GmbH

Founder and CEO of MeltPrep GmbH
Experienced with interdisciplinary research projects.
5 years of experience within the pharmaceutical process-development.

Tomislav

Dr. Tomislav Cernava, MSc

Key Researcher
Roombiotic GmbH

Postdoc at ACIB GmbH
in cooperation with Roombiotic GmbH.
Former project-member of the
Research Center Pharmaceutical Engineering GmbH.

ortner_2

Mag. Dr. Stefan Liebminger

Partner and CSO
Roombiotic GmbH

Postdoctoral molecular biologist and expert for environmental biotechnology.

roombiotic GmbH

c/o Institut für
Umweltbiotechnologie
Petersgasse 12/1
8010 Graz, AUSTRIA
E-mail: office@roombiotic.com

Phone: +43 650 2248027

This Project is funded by JITU – Seedfinancing of BMWFW handled by the AWS.

Webmail (internal)

.

DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

IMPRESSUM

ENGLISH

Die verborgene Macht „nützlicher“
Mikroorganismen für die Life-Science-Industrie!


Unternehmen

Eine fundierte Grundlagenforschung ist die beste Basis für innovative Zukunftsentwicklungen. Die perfekte Symbiose zwischen Forschung und Industrie.

VORTEILE:

Gleichmäßige Verteilung.

Da die biogenen Wirkstoffe bereits bei Raumtemperatur verdampfen,
kann eine gleichmäßige Verteilung an den Oberflächen ohne zusätzlichen Aufwand erzielt werden.

Längere Haltbarkeit.

Bereits in geringen Mengen eingesetzt, kann ein positiver Effekt auf
eine länger Haltbarkeit der Produkte nachgewiesen werden.

Im Rahmen eines von der Ortner Reinraumtechnik GmbH initiierten Co-Working-Projektes wurde in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Umweltbiotechnologie der TU Graz und dem Research Center Pharmaceutical Engineering (RCPE) die Wirkung von nützlichen Mikroorganismen umfassend erforscht. Um dessen Ergebnisse für ein breites Anwendungsgebiet technologisch nutzbar zu machen, wurde die Roombiotic GmbH gegründet. Das junge Unternehmen konzentriert sich seit dem Jahr 2013 mit ganzer Kraft auf die Entwicklung von Dekontaminationstechnologien basierend auf luftgetragenen, antimikrobiellen Substanzen.

Das Experten-Team von Roombiotic hat bereits eine Reihe von Derivaten identifiziert, die in geringen Konzentrationen eine starke antimikrobielle Wirkung gegenüber Bakterien (Staphhylococcus aureus, Escherichia coli, MRSA, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Bacillus sp., Nocardia sp.), Hefen (Candida albicans) und Schimmelpilzen (Penicilium sp., Aspergillus sp., Cladiosporum sp.) besitzen.

Diese biogenen Wirkstoffe werden großtechnisch synthetisiert und über ein geeignetes Dosiersystem auf die Oberfläche appliziert.

Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten sind vielseitig und reichen von Applikationen im Bereich der Verpackung von Lebensmitteln bis hin zu komplexen Anwendungen im Bereich der Keimreduktion von maschinellen Anlagen und abgetrennten Räumen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ortner_statement

„Vom Nachdenken
zum Vordenken!“

 

Wie bei allen unseren Forschungsprojekten
war dieses Motto von Beginn an der Antrieb
für Lösungen, die nicht nur die Lebensmittelindustrie
positiv verändern, sondern auch dem Endverbraucher, z.B. eine
längere Haltbarkeit von Produkten, bescheren sollen.

Josef Ortner

Die verborgene Macht „nützlicher“
Mikroorganismen für die Life-Science-Industrie!

Forschung Aktuell

Mikroorganismen sind mikroskopisch kleine Wunderwerke mit ständigen neuen Überlebensstrategien.

004_Dr.Berg (Small)

Wir sprechen von winzig kleinen Lebewesen, die zu den ältesten Lebensformen auf unserem Planeten gehören. Neben Archaeen, Pilzen und Mikroalgen, zählen gerade Bakterien zu jenen nützlichen Mikroorganismen, die man sich in der Lebensmittelindustrie und in der Biotechnologie zunutze macht.

Zudem treiben Mikroorganismen die für das Leben auf der Erde wichtige geochemische Stoffumsetzungen an und beeinflussen dadurch positiv das globale Klima. Sie erzeugen mindestens die Hälfte des elementaren Sauerstoffs und tragen auf den Menschen bezogen durch ihre Stoffwechselprodukte einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur menschlichen Gesundheit bei.

 

 

 

Produkte

Nach mehrjähriger Forschungsarbeit sind 3 Produktlinien
bereit für den wertvollen Einsatz in der Life-Science-Industrie.

Linie MIKROBIOLOGISCHE ANALYSE

 Mikrobiologische Gesamtanalyse

Für die Lebensmittelindustrie ist es elementar notwendig, die individuelle mikrobiologische Flora seiner Produktionsumgebung zu kennen, um die richtige Entscheidung in punkto Technologie treffen zu können.

Unsere Analyse hilft das vorhandene Mikrobiom zu identifizieren, zu quantifizieren, die Eintrittswege von Keimen zu ermitteln und geeignete Gegenmaßnahmen zu erarbeiten. Darüber hinaus bietet der Einsatz von spezifischen DNA Farbstoffen die Möglichkeit der Unterscheidung von lebenden und toten Keimen.

 Real time PCR Methode

Dies betrifft die regelmäßige Analyse von Proben aus der Produktionsumgebung in „Echtzeit“. Ähnlich wie bei der mikrobiellen Gesamtanalyse werden hier in regelmäßigen Abständen Proben an definierten Stellen genommen. Der wesentliche Vorteil gegenüber der konventionellen Methoden (Abklatschtest) liegt im Faktor Zeit. Da die Proben innerhalb weniger Stunden nach Entnahme analysiert werden können, liegen auch die Ergebnisse sehr zeitnahe vor. So kann unmittelbar auf eine mögliche Kontamination des Produktes reagiert werden und betreffende Chargen vor der Auslieferung gestoppt werden. Dies verhindert große, komplexe und unliebsame Rückrufaktionen. Das Verfahren erhöht damit die Sicherheit sowohl für den Kunden als auch Produzenten über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus.

Folder: Mikrobiom-Tracking

Linie BIOGENE SUBSTANZEN

Ausgewählte biogene Substanzen, die die Fähigkeiten haben als natürliche Dekontaminationseinrichtungen von Oberflächen und Lebensmitteln zu wirken, werden eingesetzt. In Kombination mit den entsprechenden Dosiergeräten wird der Wirkstoff zielgerichtet eingesetzt. Selbiger schafft dadurch eine dauerhaft keimfreie Produktionsumgebung bei der das nicht gewollte mikrobiologische Wachstum am oder im Produkt kontrolliert werden kann.

Linie AROMASTOFF

Aromastoffe, wie sie sowohl als Grundbestandteile von Lebensmitteln (Obst, Gemüse, Nüsse, Kaffee) auftreten als auch in gleicher Form von nützlichen Mikroorganismen produziert werden, können dem Kunden in unterschiedlichen Geschmacksausprägungen angeboten werden.

 

Folder: Aroma Folder

Video

Patente

Geforscht. Entwickelt. Patentiert.

patent_foto_2

1) Methoden zur biologischen Kontrolle von mikrobiellem Wachstum auf Reinraum-Ausrüstung.

Die Erfindung bezieht sich speziell auf die Anwendung an Reinraumkleidung. Es handelt sich um ein Verfahren bestehend aus dem Einsatz einer oder mehrerer biologisch aktiver Substanz(en), die aus antagonistisch wirksamen Mikroorganismen, vorzugsweise Bakterien, gewonnen werden.

 

patent_foto_1

2) Flüchtige organische Substanzen von bakteriellen Antagonisten zur Kontrolle von mikrobiellem Wachstum.

Die Erfindung bezieht sich speziell auf die Anwendung an Oberflächen. Es handelt sich um ein Verfahren der kontaktlosen Behandlung von Oberflächen mit leicht flüchtigen Substanzen. Die luftgetragenen antimikrobiellen Wirkstoffe werden ursprünglich von pflanzenassoziierten Mikroorganismen gebildet aber in synthetisch reiner Form einzeln oder in einer Mischung auf der zu behandelten Oberfläche appliziert.

Team

ortner_1

Prof. Dr. rer. nat.
Gabriele Berg

Gesellschafterin
Roombiotic GmbH

Leiterin des Institutes für Umwelt- und Biotechnologie
an der Technischen Universität in Graz.
Autorin von über 170 Fachpublikationen,
Inhaberin von 7 Patenten und Expertin für Mikrobiologie.

ortner_3

Josef
Ortner

Gesellschafter
Roombiotic GmbH

CEO Ortner Reinraumtechnik GmbH
Pionier der frühen Reinraumtechnik in Europa und Inhaber von vielen Patenten im Bereich der Reinraumtechnik.

Daniel Treffer

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.
Daniel Treffer

Geschäftsführer
Roombiotic GmbH

Gründer der MeltPrep GmbH
Erfahrung mit interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekten sowie
5 Jahre Erfahrung im der pharmazeutischen Prozessentwicklung

Tomislav

Dr.
Tomislav Cernava, MSc

Key Researcher Roombiotic GmbH

Postdoktorand bei ACIB GmbH
in einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit Roombiotic GmbH.
Ehemaliger Projektmitarbeiter bei
Research Center Pharmaceutical Engineering GmbH.

ortner_2

Mag. Dr.
Stefan Liebminger

Gesellschafter und wissenschaftlicher Leiter Roombiotic GmbH

Promovierter
Molekularbiologe und
Experte für
Umweltbiotechnologie.

roombiotic GmbH

c/o SciencePark GmbH
Stremayrgasse 16/IV
8010     Graz
E-mail: office@roombiotic.com

Tel. +43 650 2248027

Gefördert durch JITU – Seedfinancing des BMWFW abgewickelt durch die AWS.

AGB

DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

IMPRESSUM